Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

The Village of Algonquin, IL

Welcome to the website for the Village of Algonquin!

Community Development Staff Receive Awards

The Village of Algonquin is proud to share the outstanding accomplishments of two members from the Community Development Department.

Planner of the Year – Patrick Knapp, Senior Planner, was named the Kane County Planner of the Year for 2023 by municipal peers. This honor recognizes his exceptional work in project management, leadership, and commitment to excellence. Patrick's contributions to various projects, such as the Enclave (which includes Cooper’s Hawk, Portillo’s, Raising Cane’s, and Belle Tire) and NorthPoint’s Algonquin Corporate Center, have made a lasting impression on the community. These projects are projected to add over 1,500 jobs to the local economy, further highlighting their positive impact on the region.

Code Enforcement Officer of the Year – Stephen Ezell, Property Maintenance Inspector, was named the Illinois Association of Code Enforcement’s (IACE) Code Enforcement Officer of the Year. This recognition highlights Stephen's leadership and commitment to community standards. The community benefits from his dedication to maintaining and improving safety and quality of life.

"The commitment of our staff to the community is truly commendable,” said Debby Sosine, Village President. "Their dedication to continuous professional growth, collaboration, and hard work reflect the Village’s culture of excellence.”

The Village of Algonquin is grateful for the professional contributions of Patrick Knapp and Stephen Ezell. Patrick has worked with the Village for nearly three years and is a certified planner with the American Planning Association/American Institute of Certified Planners. Stephen has been employed by the Village for seven years, most recently as a Property Maintenance Inspector.

Overall, the Village of Algonquin employs 148 staff members.  Each employee adds value to the organization and community through their dedication, experience, and commitment to best practices.