Village of Algonquin Economic Development Commission Regular Meeting January 9, 2020 7:00 p.m.

Agenda Item 1: Roll Call/Establish Quorum

PRESENT: Members: Chairperson Jerry Pinderski, Commissioners: Bob Smith, Dave Ward, and Brian Rasek. Absent: Vince Vachio, Mike Ritter and Kurt Moders. Staff: Ben Mason.

There was a quorum present.

Agenda Item 2: Approve Minutes from Past Meetings

No minutes presented for approval.

Agenda Item 3: Public Comment

None

Agenda Item 4: Annual Algonquin Business Awards

Mr. Mason presented an overview of businesses that had been nominated by village staff and officials, for consideration by the EDC and its 2020 business award program. There was consensus from the EDC to present awards to the following businesses: Building Rehabilitation Award – Algonquin Town Center, McDonald's on Randall Road, and Darren and Michelle Kopetsky for their building at 214 S. Main Street; Business Improvement Award – Animal Care Clinic of Fox Valley; Community Service Award – Primrose School of Algonquin; Community Economic Impact Award – South Main Street businesses from Algonquin Road south to Railroad Street. Staff will invite representatives from all the businesses to attend the February 4 Village Board meeting where the awards will be handed out.

Agenda Item 5: Marketing Update

Mr. Mason gave a brief summary of the memo prepared by Teresa Nortillo, of a December 12th Select Chicago event hosted by the Village. Mr. Smith complimented the efforts and fine work of Ms. Nortillo organizing the event, which gave the Village exposure on a global stage to potential foreign investors.

Agenda Item 6: New/Old Business

Mr. Mason handed out the meeting schedule for the upcoming year, will be the same as usual, every other month with a summer break.

Chair Pinderski suggested a future topic for discussion should be potential re-thinking of the Algonquin Corporate Campus.

Agenda Item 7: Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 8:15pm.

Approved:

Jerry Pinderski, Chairperson, EDC