

MINUTES OF THE PUBLIC HEARING OF THE PRESIDENT AND BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE VILLAGE OF ALGONQUIN, MCHENRY & KANE COUNTIES, ILLINOIS ON SEPTEMBER 5, 2023 HELD IN THE VILLAGE BOARD ROOM

Public Hearing before the corporate authorities, to consider the following items:

- A. Proposed creation of Special Service Area Number 6, for the Westview Crossing Subdivision and the Levy of a Special Tax
- B. Proposed creation of Special Service Area Number 7, for the Trails of Woods Creek Subdivision and the Levy of a Special Tax
- C. Proposed creation of Special Service Area Number 8, for the Grand Reserve Subdivision and the Levy of a Special Tax
- D. Proposed creation of Special Service Area Number 9, for the Algonquin Road Subdivision and the Levy of a Special Tax

<u>ROLL CALL</u>: Village President Debby Sosine, called the Public Hearing to order at 7:15P.M. with Village Clerk, Fred Martin, calling the roll.

Trustees Present: Brian Dianis, Jerry Glogowski, Maggie Auger; John Spella, Laura Brehmer, Bob Smith, and Village President Debby Sosine

Staff in Attendance: Michael Kumbera, Deputy Village Manager; Nadim Badran, Public Works Director; Bradley Andresen, Ecologist/Horticulturist Public Works; Jason Shallcross, Community Development Director; Dennis Walker, Chief of Police; and Attorney, Kelly Cahill.

Village Attorney Cahill explained to the assembled audience the purpose of the SSA, when an HOA fails to maintain open public areas and the Village incurs a cost of taking over the public space maintenance, that cost is distributed back to the individual homeowners.

A. Proposed creation of Special Service Area Number 6, for the Westview Crossing Subdivision and the Levy of a Special Tax

There was no public comment, or objections

Moved by Glogowski, seconded by Smith to approve the termination of protest and objections for the SSA Number 6, for the Westview Crossing Subdivision

Roll call vote; voting aye – Trustees Dianis, Glogowski, Brehmer, Spella, Auger and Smith Motion carried; 6-ayes, 0-nays,

Motion by Smith, seconded by Glogowski to adjourn the Public Hearing for the SSA Number 6 Voice vote; ayes carried

B. Proposed creation of Special Service Area Number 7, for the Trails of Woods Creek Subdivision and the Levy of a Special Tax

The following individuals expressed concerns over the proposed SSA Number 7 for The Trails of Woods Creek, Ed Langel, William Borque, Eric Galla, Jim Curtis, Daniel Bullen, Brad Lutes

Moved by Auger, seconded by Glogowski to approve the termination of protest and objections for the SSA Trails of Woods Creek Number 7

Roll call vote; voting aye – Trustees Dianis, Glogowski, Brehmer, Spella, Auger and Smith Motion carried; 6-ayes, 0-nays

Motion by Auger, seconded by Brehmer to adjourn the Public Hearing for SSA Number 7 Voice vote; aves carried

C. Proposed creation of Special Service Area Number 8, for the Grand Reserve Subdivision and the Levy of a Special Tax

The following individuals expressed concerns over the proposed SSA for Grand Reserve, Conrad Musleh, Louis Anfeldt, Pete Anderson, Linda Gibson

Moved by Auger, seconded by Glogowski to approve the termination of protest and objections for the SSA Grand Reserve Number 8

Roll call vote; voting aye – Trustees Dianis, Glogowski, Brehmer, Spella, Auger and Smith Motion carried; 6-ayes, 0-nays

Motion by Glogowski, seconded by Smith to adjourn the Public Hearing for SSA Number 8 Voice vote; ayes carried

D. Proposed creation of Special Service Area Number 9, for the Algonquin Road Subdivision and the Levy of a Special Tax

The following individual expressed concerns over the proposed SSA for The Algonquin Road Subdivision, Mr. Dufore who owns 2 of the 3 lots.

Moved by Auger, seconded by Glogowski to approve the termination of protest and objections for the SSA for The Algonquin Road Subdivision Number 9

Roll call vote; voting aye – Trustees Dianis, Glogowski, Brehmer, Spella, Auger and Smith Motion carried; 6-ayes, 0-nays,

Moved by Spella, seconded by Brehmer to adjourn the Public Hearing for SSA Number 9 at 8:40pm Voice vote; ayes carried

	Submitted:
Approved this 19th day of September, 2023	Village Clerk, Fred Martin
	Village President, Debby Sosine